Home |About Us | Events | Clubs | News | Bowlers Forum | Illustrated Spain | Bowling Organisations | Umpiring | Coaching
Health & Exercise | Memory Lane | Report Writing | Humour | Links | Email Us contactus@bowlinginspain.com
To refresh this page press F5, (Function key 5), normally at the top of your keyboard.


Parsons Trophy & Jackson Cup

Report by Vic Parsons, photo editing  by Amber Dineen & John Carr. 

The Ladies Club Pairs, Jackson Cup and Menís Club Pairs, Parsons Trophy competitions were played from Thursday 22nd until the Finals on Sunday 25th    February.

Winners of Parsons Trophy were Chris Ewer and Ron Lloyd.  The Jackson Cup were Christine Parkinson and Maureen Ohara.

The Jackson Cup Final was between the winners Maureen Ohara and Christine Parkinson against Viv Sykes and Pat Deacon. This was always going to be a good game to watch and proved to be correct. Viv and Pat started well and looked good. Maureen and Christine then crept up going ahead on the tenth end. Viv and Pat although playing well could not go ahead but fought back on the last two ends only losing by two shots. Well done to Maureen and Christine for winning the championships.

The Parsons Trophy Final, was between the winners Chris Ewer and Ron Lloyd against Reg Birmingham and Stephen Byatt. Another game that was expected to be a classic. Unfortunately for Reg and Stephen, Chris and Ron were on fire and won the championship comfortably. 

In the Semi-finals Chris Ewer and Ron Lloyd reached the final by beating Graham Patrick and John Fitzgerald. Reg Birmingham and Stephen Byatt were successful over Austin Crilly and Joe Sibley.

Maureen Ohara and Christine Parkinson beat Ann Hayhow and Di Duffield. Pat Deacon and Viv Sykes were successful over Eileen Ritson and Sylvia Pritchard.

As Reg Birmingham was taking part in the finals John Fitzgerald, Vice-Captain thanked all players for taking part, the many supporters who watched, Bryan Hughes for maintaining the green throughout and  Tony Lear for running  competition and then presented the Jackson Cup and Parsons Trophy to the winning pairs.

Men's Winners.

Photo L to R: Chris Ewer and Ron Lloyd.

Ladies Winners.

Photo L to R: Maureen O'hara and Christine Parkinson.

Why not email your Spanish regional championships report and items of special interest to www.bowlinginspain.com?  Where appropriate, please accompany the report with photos.

Events News